A little about Gyumri
Gyumri is the second largest city in Armenia and the capital of the Shirak Provience in the northwestern part of the country. By the end of the 19th century, when the city was known as Alexandropol,it was one of the largest cities of Russian-ruled Eastern Armenia with a population similar to that of Yerevan. It was renamed to Leninakan during the Soviet period. The city’s population grew above 200,000 prior to the 1988 Spitak earthquake, when it was devastated. As of the 2011 census, the city had a population of 121,976, down from 150,917 reported at the 2001 census.
Cathedral of the Holy Mother of God
Cathedral of the Holy Mother of God (Սուրբ Աստվածածին Մայր Եկեղեցի), also known as the Our Lady of Seven Wounds (Սուրբ Աստվածամոր Յոթ Վերք), is a 19th-century church in Gyumri, Armenia. Occupying the northern side of the Vardanants Square, the cathedral is the seat of the Diocese of Shirak of the Armenian Apostolic Church. The church was constructed between 1873 and 1884.The church of the Holy Mother of God belongs to the Cruciform style of the Armenian churches with an external rectangular shape. The belfry is located at the top of the main entrance on the western side of the building. The church is topped with a large dome at the center surrounded with 2 minor domes. Unlike other Armenian churches, the altar at the Holy Mother of God is unique for its multi-iconic decoration.The church remained active during the Soviet years.After the 1998 Armenian earthquake, the two minor domes fell down and they were replaced with new ones. The fallen domes are currently placed in the church yard.